“SpaceX to cap transitional year with launch, poised for big things in 2020”

Monday

"Monday's launch

Weather conditions appear to be favorable for Monday's launch attempt of the JCSAT-18/Kacific1 commercial satellite from Space Launch Complex 40 in Florida. The launch window opens at 7:10pm ET (00:10 UTC Tuesday), and closes at 8:38pm ET (01:38 UTC). A backup launch window is available on Tuesday, opening at the same time.

This particular first stage of the Falcon 9 rocket has flown twice, in May 2019 and July 2019, on supply missions for the International Space Station. SpaceX will attempt to recover the stage after the launch of the heavy, geostationary-orbit-bound satellite on the Of Course I Still Love You droneship in the Atlantic Ocean. The company will also attempt to catch both fairing halves in separate recovery ships."  arstechnica

—————

Up! Up! and Away!  Looks like a banner year coming for SpaceX.  IMO Musk's competitors in the space business are going to have a tough time catching up to him.  pl

https://arstechnica.com/science/2019/12/spacex-to-cap-transitional-year-with-launch-poised-for-big-things-in-2020/

This entry was posted in Science, Space. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “SpaceX to cap transitional year with launch, poised for big things in 2020”

  1. Avatar Diana C says:

    Thank you for these reports. I wish the “mainstream news” and FOX had some time to report these, maybe show images or broadcast the launches. Surely the general public doesn’t now count this information as “boring” (which is what high school students used to call their reading assignments.
    BTW…I love the name of the droneship.

  2. I hope all goes well tomorrow, Colonel.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.